Under Construction

Georgia officially took over the six-month presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe (CoE) from France

On 27 November, Georgia officially took over the six-month presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe (CoE)  from France.
The Minister of State for European Affairs, Amélie de Montchalin presented to the Committee information on the results of the French Presidency, after which she symbolically handed over the keys the Georgian Foreign Minister, David Zalkaliani.
The Foreign Minister, David Zalkaliani and the CoE Secretary General, Marija Pejčinović Burić signed an agreement on this occasion, on behalf of Georgia and the Council of Europe.
In his new capacity as the Chair of the Committee of Ministers, Davit Zalkaliani introduced  the priorities of the Georgian Presidency.
Addressing the Committee of Ministers, Zalkaliani congratulated France on its successful presidency. According to him, “assuming the presidency of the international organization, Georgia is granted the unique opportunity to contribute to upholding the three main values of the Council of Europe:  democracy, human rights and the rule of law.
Describing in detail each priority of the Georgian Presidency, the Georgian Foreign Minister highlighted the importance of upcoming high-level conferences to be conducted in Strasbourg under the aegis of the Georgian Presidency.

Georgia has selected four priorities for its Presidency: 1. Human Rights and Environmental Protection; 2. Civil Participation in Decision-Making; 3. Child Friendly Justice – Converging Experience on Restorative Justice in Europe; 4. Strengthening Democracy through Education, Culture and Youth Engagement.

Along with thematic meetings, Strasbourg will host various cultural events during the Georgian Presidency, which will be aimed at raising awareness of Georgia.

Following the meeting of the  Committee of Ministers Deputies of the Council of Europe, an official reception was held on behalf of David Zalkaliani, the new chair of the Committee of Ministers.